What do you think of Pittsburgh Steelers QB Ben Roethlisberger statement regarding suspension?

On Monday, April 26, Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger issued a public statement regarding his six-game suspension for the 2010 season after his sexual assault accusation from an underage girl in Georgia.

“Though I have committed no crime, I regret that I have fallen short of the values instilled in me by my family. I will not appeal the suspension and will comply with what is asked of me — and more,” said Roethlisberger.

I’m truly sorry for the disappointment and negative attention I brought to my family, my teammates, coaches, [Steelers owners] the Rooneys and the NFL,” Roethlisberger said.

Art Rooney has shown frustration with the QB and has agreed that Roethlisbger needs to earn respect back in steel city.

“I understand that the opportunities I have been blessed with are a privilege, and much is expected of me as the quarterback of the Pittsburgh Steelers. I absolutely want to be the leader this team deserves, valued in the community and a role model to kids. I have much work to do to earn this trust,” said Roethlisberger in his statement.

The two-time Super Bowl winner was banned without pay for violating the NFL’s personal conduct policy and was ordered to undergo a “comprehensive behavioral evaluation by professionals.”

Though he was not convicted of any crime, many people believe he deserved more punishment than just six games after he was accused of raping a 20-year-old college student in a nightclub in Georgia.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

