Get to know your Tigers: Towson baseball player profile

The man to look out for this baseball season is the one on the pitcher’s mound. Wes Shifflett, a senior at Towson University, played ball at Watkins Mill High School in Gaithersburg, Md before becoming a Tiger. At WMHS, Shifflett earned the Wolverines’ Most Valuable Player award twice.

The left-handed pitcher has also been on the Colonial Athletic Association Commissioner’s List three times while playing ball at Towson.

#5 Wes Shifflett.

Last season, Shifflett appeared in 15 games and started in four of those games and limited hitters he threw against to a .254 batting average with 39 strikeouts. In a big game against #14 Virginia University, Shifflett pitched one scoreless inning as well.

Q.What made you decide to play baseball at Towson?
A.I decided to play baseball at towson because I knew some of the guys that were playing here. They were from my county. I also liked the campus here a lot more than other schools. I wanted to go to a school where I would enjoy myself even if I wasn’t playing baseball.

Q. What other schools did you consider playing ball at?
A.I also considered playing at University of Maryland, Hartford University, UMBC, and George Mason.

Q.What position do you play as a Tiger, and was that the same you played in high school or other schools? How has that affected your game?
A. I am a pitcher. I used to play first base in high school, but at the collegiate level you kind of have to pick if you’re either going to be a pitcher or a position player and I had more potential as a pitcher. I do miss hitting though.

Q.What is your best memory with the team?
A. My best memory of the team was beating the University of Virginia 2 years ago when they were nationally ranked.

Q.Are there any specific pregame rituals you or your team do before a game to pump you up?
A. We dont have any pregame rituals, but we need one. Let me know if you have any ideas.

Q.How do you feel about team unity on your team?
A.I think we have a lot of team unity. I think as a whole we’re closer than many of the other teams on campus. We spend a lot of time with each other, and being on the road a lot we become very close.

Q. How do you feel about SCHOOL unity behind the team?
A.I don’t think the school gives us enough support. The school tends to focus on football, basketball and lacrosse. It’s disappointing but there’s not a lot we can do about it. I do think the students have been very supportive of us. When the weather gets warmer, we get some good fan turnouts.

Q.What would you say do to get more people to attend the games at Towson?
A. To get more fans to the games there needs to be an incentive to come such as a raffle or prizes to be given out.

Q.Do you think you play better when more students and alumni are in attendance to the games?
A. When we are home we definately play better with a larger crowd, it really helps motivate us.

Q.When you graduate, would you come back to support the team as an alumnus?A. I would absolutely come back to support the team.

 

Q.What do you plan to do after college and when the game is over?
A. I’m currently going through the process with the federal government to become a federal law enforcement agent with either the secret service or the capital police.

Q.How has baseball made a difference in your life?
A. Baseball has made me who I am. There is a culture to the sport, and it is how I’ve come to college, and made friends. The skills I have learn in baseball are not only useful on the field but in life as well.

Q.How does baseball affect you in other aspects of life?
A. I’ve learned how to work as a team, how to be a leader, how to be responsible and have dedication towards something. Most importantly though it’s taught me to pursue things in life that I love.

Q.What will you miss the most after the game is over?
A. I’ll miss my teammates the most. Ive spent the last few years with most of these guys, and for it to be gone will be a tough adjustment.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Get to know your Tigers: Towson baseball player profile”

  1. Jason Chambers Says:

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?

    My site goes over a lot of the same topics as yours
    and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  2. http://www.orientalherb.com Says:

    Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you
    download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Appreciate it

  3. http://www.twitter.com Says:

    Hello there! This blog post could not be written any better!

    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a great read.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment